Department of Chemistry
University of Victoria
PO Box 3065, Stn. CSC
Victoria, BC
V8W 3V6



Just three weeks left to register for the
SABCS Conference and Workshop!
Technical Workshop Program Now Available
Workshop Program Here

 Contaminants of Emerging Concern - New Science, Challenges and Solutions – Abstract

Practitioners require the most recent information on contaminants that are becoming priorities for inclusion in standards in groundwater, soil and sediment in order to be ready to include these in the site investigation plan. Some such as PFOS and PFOA, are recent; some have been present longer with renewed priority such as industrial organic solvents including dioxane and sulfolane. Such chemicals are being detected at an increasing range and number of sites, and are also a concern with respect to waste water treatment and new technologies are needed in this area. More emphasis on harmful effects other than acute toxicity, such as reproductive (endocrine disruptors) and neuro toxicity are emerging. Understanding the chemical and physical properties of these classes of compounds will prepare you for optimizing your site assessment, risk assessment, remediation and site closure approach. This year’s workshop provides in depth information in this developing aspect of your practice. Expert speakers, five from the US and five from Canada, address analytical, practical site investigation and remediation aspects of emerging contaminants.

Sixth Annual SABCS Conference on Contaminated Sites
October 27, 2016

Technical Workshop October 26, 2016
Conference Program Here

Sixth Annual SABCS Conference on Contaminated Sites
October 27, 2016

Technical Workshop October 26, 2016

Registration Form Here

  • You can pay registration by credit card or ask for an invoice. Fill in a form for each attendee, but you can make one payment for a group from your firm.

Fees are the same as last year. As well we have secured the same convenient venues in downtown Vancouver.

Sixth Annual SABCS Conference on Contaminated Sites

October 27, 2016
Segal Building, Room 1200 – 1500, 500 Granville Street, Vancouver, BC
A full program of contributed papers on new approaches in site investigation and remediation, analytical methods, and applications in resource areas is scheduled.

SABCS Announces Sustaining Sponsor!

SABCS Workshop
Contaminants of Emerging and Future Concern


October 26, 2016
Earl and Jennie Lohn Policy Room, SFU Harbourside Centre
515 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, BC

This is a full day of speakers from the US and Canada who are experts on topics related to Emerging Contaminants. The workshop is highly recommended for intermediate and senior level professionals.  


 SABCS would appreciate your firm’s sponsorship support for these events. For details see the attachment at SABCS Sponsorship 2016 or contact Zahra Pirani for further details on opportunities for sponsorship or for general conference inquiries at or 604-358-1379.



Associate Membership Now Available


  See Membership link on the left, for those with less experience than required for Full Member


All past documents available to download on the Documents page:


The Science Advisory Board of Directors consists of the following:

Paul West, PhD  P.Chem President
Marc Cameron, MSc, RPBio Vice-President
Will Gaherty, MS, P.Eng Secretary Treasurer
Shannon Bard, PhD
Glyn Fox, PhD RPBio
Ian Hers, PhD, P.Eng
Mario Bianchin, PhD, P.Geo
Ute Pott, MSc
Tiona Todoruk, PhD

  Last modified: October 12, 2016

Science Advisory Board for Contaminated Sites in British Columbia.
Copyright © 2004